Instant Gratification

The older I’ve gotten the more I’ve focused on trying to enjoy the small moments. Specifically when savoring a good meal – either prepared by my mother’s loving hands, out at a high-end eatery, or a favorite local burger joint. It’s no longer about how fast I can consume.

For me, in love, I find myself feeling similarly. If I’m going to make a leap into love again, I’m just not sure I can rush it. I mean, every time I’ve fumbled blindly and let love lead, it’s caused more heartache. Maybe some lasting memories and great sex, but I want something deeper. I don’t want to get so caught up in a society that is so focused on how fast a download processes, or how quickly one can go from 0 to 60. Look at all of the great things that were built and have stood the test of time. Look at all of the people our parents age who are still in marriages. I can’t tell you how many of my friends are either single mothers or on their second marriages. I think some of them would be hard-pressed to deny that they were young, in love, too impressionable, and couldn’t take the moments they have now to look at things from a different perspective.

I suppose I wouldn’t trade where I am now for where I could be for the simple fact that there is no guarantee that where I would be, would be so much greater. I’ll take the slow burn over instant gratification – it’s got way more soul…

~ by kjbox76 on February 26, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
